End User Advisory Council


The End User Advisory Council advises and challenges the Pay.UK Board to ensure that the needs of end users, now and in the future, are correctly understood and addressed in our work. Its members, listed below, have been selected to represent the needs of our diverse end users.


Anna is an independent non-executive Board member of Pay.UK and Chair of the End User Advisory Council. She has a background in regulation, policy and consumer advocacy across a variety of sectors. She is currently a Board member of Age UK, a member of the Zurich Financial Independent Governance Committee, Chair of the Southern Water Customer Challenge Group, and Chair of the Rail Safety Standards Board.

Louise works with legislators and regulators to drive positive disruption, with corporates to cope with disruption, and with start-ups to exploit disruption.

Michelle is the Chief Executive of The Money Charity, the UK’s financial capability charity and is also a Trustee of GambleAware. She was a member of the Financial Inclusion Commission’s Advisory Panel and a member of the London Institute of Banking & Finance’s validation panel for their Post Graduate Certificate in Financial Capability. Previously Michelle was instrumental in setting up the Consumer Financial Education Body and worked for 13 years at the Financial Services Authority and the Personal Investment Authority, undertaking roles in pensions, regulation, communications and financial capability.

Scott is the Chief Executive of Chas Smith Ltd, a construction company established in 1922. Previously he was the UK Commissioner for Employment & Skills, one of the UK Commission for Employment and Skills SME representatives and an advisor on the Small Business Council. He conducted the “Scott Johnson” review of apprenticeships in 2014. He is also a current member of the Government’s Better Regulation Strategy Group.

Terry is the Director General of the NFU. Previously he worked for the Food & Drink Federation (FDF) as its Director of Communications and then as Director General at the Provision Trade Federation (PTF) looking after the interests of businesses involved in the UK bacon and dairy trade. During this time he was also Secretary to the Specialist Cheesemakers’ Association.

Gary is Professor of Entrepreneurship at the University of Dundee and CEO of Elevator UK, a social enterprise operating from 20 locations with its HQ in Aberdeen, Scotland. Gary has invested in, operated and developed businesses in diverse fields such as transport training, software, electronic manufacturing and business consultancy – in addition to managing an investment syndicate.

Rajay is Chief Executive Officer (Europe) of Keypath Education, a world-leading marketing and technology company. From 2010-2015, Rajay was a Director at The Open University where he was a leading architect of the FutureLearn MOOC platform. Prior to that he was one of five members on the Independent Review of Higher Education Funding and Student Finance chaired by Lord Browne.

Jo is Head of Government Banking and Assistant Paymaster General. She has over 20 years’ experience working across both the private and public sector with particular strengths in change management, programme delivery and senior relationship management with particular interest and experience in the digital, payments, commercial and IT arena. A keen advocate of talent management, Jo actively mentors and coaches colleagues across government and brings with her an enthusiasm for change, continuous improvement and innovation.

Jane became Director of Policy and Research at Age UK in 2016, having joined Age UK’s predecessor, Age Concern England as Financial Services Policy Adviser in 2006. She previously worked for the Consumers’ Association, was a member of the Financial Services Consumer Panel and a Council Member for the Ombudsman for Estate Agents scheme. She is also a Governor of the Pensions Policy Institute. Jane received an OBE for her services to consumers of financial services in 2015.

Claire is a professional researcher and policy analyst, focusing on consumer behaviour and decision-making, consumer protection and consumer-focused regulation. She specialises in user-led, evidence-based and impact-focused policy development, across a range of markets, with a particular interest in vulnerable and excluded consumers. Claire holds a number of non-executive roles including the Competition and Markets Authority Panel, Civil Aviation Authority Consumer Panel, the Advertising Advisory Committee and the Finance and Leasing Association Lending Code Board.

Sian is Director of the Financial Health Exchange at Toynbee Hall in London’s East End, where she leads programmes aimed at making money work better for people. She was a member of the Payments Strategy Forum and chaired the End User Needs Working Group, including Request to Pay and Confirmation of Payee. Sian sits on a range of industry advisory groups, is a Financial Inclusion Commissioner, a member of the Payment Systems Regulator’s Panel and is a trustee for the Money Advice Trust.

Joanna is an age, disability and inclusion consultant, with a strong interest in older and disabled consumers. Before becoming a consultant, she was a director at Business Disability Forum where she worked with a wide range of private and public sector organisations. She is Chair of TfL’s Independent Disability Advisory Group which gives input at strategic level, and has been embedded in the Sainsbury’s customer experience team for over four years, providing advice, conducting research, running focus groups and managing trials.

Ian is Director General of the Food & Drink Federation. He previously spent 14 years with Diageo plc where he was the executive committee member responsible for its reputation. He also worked for Boots The Chemist, Mars Confectionery and Pillsbury and had spells in consultancy and politics. He received a CBE for political and public service in August 2015.

End User Advisory Council Advice Note

Annual Report