Pay.UK Board

Board members

Our board brings a wide range of knowledge and expertise to guide and deliver change successfully while maintaining a focus on service delivery. Chaired by Mark Hoban, our board directors are listed below:

Mark Hoban

Mark Hoban is Chair of Flood Re, which was set up to improve the affordability and availability of flood cover for homeowners. In 2020, he was appointed Chair of the Jersey Financial Services Commission, and later that year, Chair of Pay.UK. In addition, he is a member of PwC’s Advisory Council.

Mark is chair of the Financial Services Skills Commission, which is a new initiative to address the skills challenges the sector faces.

Between 2001 and 2015, he was the Member of Parliament for Fareham. He was a minister in the Treasury between 2010 and 2012 and at the Department for Work and Pensions between 2012 and 2013.

David Pitt

Executive Director

(Chief Executive Officer)

David joined Pay.UK in July 2021. David has a strong and successful track record delivering high profile projects both in the UK and internationally, and leading organisations through periods of transformational change. Most recently he delivered a transformation strategy at the Government’s Test, Trace and Containment operation where he was Chief Operating Officer, responsible for overseeing the end-to-end process to improve overall delivery across the UK. David was COO at esure leading the business through major transformational change prior to its sale. He has also held senior roles at RSA Insurance, including CEO, Greater China.

Michael Ellis

Executive Director

(Chief Financial Officer)

Michael is an experienced commercial finance professional and has worked in payments for 15 years.  A chartered accountant, he was most recently Chief Financial Officer at Vocalink during its acquisition by Mastercard and subsequent integration.  Michael has broad experience within finance, including in the fields of: strategy, mergers and acquisitions, finance transformation, planning, financial reporting, tax, and treasury. Prior to working in payments Michael gained experience in professional practice, logistics and chemicals sectors.

Anna Bradley

Anna is an experienced Non-Executive Director and Chair. She has a background in regulation, policy and consumer advocacy across a variety of sectors. She is currently the Chair of the Solicitors Regulation Authority, and Chair of the Zurich Financial Independent Governance Group.

Diane Côté

Diane qualified as a Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA-CA) with EY and has experience holding senior positions in organisations such as Standard Life, Prudential Assurance, and Aviva PLC, in her financial services career spanning over 30 years. Most recently, Diane held the position of Chief Risk Officer at the London Stock Exchange Group where she also chaired its Foundation and its diversity and inclusion committee until February 2021. During that period, Diane also chaired TheCityUK Cyber Security and Resilience Advisory Board and was a member of the ECB market infrastructure resilience advisory committee. Diane also sits on the boards of Société Générale Group and X-Forces Enterprise, a social enterprise for retired armed forces members. She is Chair of La Nuova Musica, Trustee on the board of Shaw Trust and of Shaw Education Trust, and a member of the Women’s Network Forum.

Helen Crooks

Helen Crooks is an experienced data and digital leader. Her previous roles include Chief Data Officer at Ofgem and executive roles at Tesco and Virgin Media and she featured in the DataIQ100 power Titan list from 2017-2020, being recognised with the DataIQ life-time achievement award in 2022. Helen also Chairs the External Advisory Group for the UK Parliament Digital Transformation Programme and previously chaired the London Market Data Steering Board.

Marc Pettican

With over 20 years in the payments arena, Marc Pettican has seen significant development in technology and innovation across the industry, and has often been a driving force in shaping new propositions for our corporate portfolio (NFC, EMV, Data Security, eCommerce, Virtual Payments). Marc joined Barclays over two decades ago and has extensive experience in Acquiring, Payment Gateways, Data Security and Commercial Payments. He has undertaken a succession of senior coverage, leadership & general management roles in Barclaycard covering Small Business through to Global Corporates. He spent 2 years overseeing the integration of The Logic Group technology provider into Barclaycard, and then moved to become CEO of Barclaycard Commercial Payments, driving the adoption of B2B & Virtual payments across all segments. He has held his current role as President of Barclays Payments since October 2019, where he is responsible for all aspects of commercial activity, including Issuing, Acquiring and the growing area of Partnerships.

Lesley Titcomb

Lesley joined the Board in January as an Independent Non-Executive Director. Lesley is a qualified accountant and has a strong financial services and regulatory background, including the Pensions Regulator, the Financial Conduct Authority.

Lars Trunin

Lars is Head of Product Europe & UK at Wise, formerly TransferWise. He leads teams focused on helping over 10 million people around the world move their money internationally as quickly, inexpensively and conveniently as possible. He spearheaded the initiative of Wise joining the Bank of England’s Real-Time Gross Settlement (RTGS) system as the first Non-Bank Payment Service Provider and as a direct customer of the Faster Payment System. Before Wise, Lars founded Raudwara, an Estonian publishing house, authored several bestselling books in Mathematics, and worked with the Walt Disney Company in Kenya, Nigeria, and South Africa. He holds an MBA from Saïd Business School, University of Oxford.

Ajay Vij

Ajay Vij specialises in digital transformation and scaling global technology services in Financial Services. He is currently VP for Strategic Industries for Google Cloud EMEA. He has built his career with technology service integration firms, including at Infosys, IBM Global Business Services and Avanade.

Peter Wyman

Peter is an experienced Chair and Non-Executive Director with a current portfolio of appointments in the private, public and third sectors, which includes being Chair of NHS Blood and Transplant and of Sir Richard Sutton Limited.

He was previously a senior partner in PwC, President of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in England and Wales and Chair of the Care Quality Commission.

All Pay.UK directors are required to declare their conflicts of interest.

Board minutes

From time-to-time, we are required to redact key information from publications where it is necessary to protect commercial confidentiality, candid debate and the financial stability or integrity of Pay.UK, or to comply with our duty of confidentiality. You can read the policy which governs this process, below:

Skip to content